Poem: Broken

Reality Broken

Broken
Spirit, broken
Soul, broken
Beyond repair?
Don’t know.
Broken
Promises, broken
Hearts, when
Did all this
Madness start?
Broken
Glances, broken
Bones, broken
Disabled,
All alone.
Broken
Mirrors, broken
She dies,
Why did I
Believe the lies?
Broken
Vision, broken
Mind, broken
Young, broken
Time.


W. Spencer
2010

__________________________________

Written after I had been drinking and using for a couple years, after I left my second husband, was in the process of divorcing him, and was beginning to feel my brain crack due to prolonged exposure to drugs and alcohol. I was broken, yet still alive…

Leave a Reply

